Student Organizations

 

Students are encouraged to enrich their educational and leadership skills through involvement in an organization at the college, not being content simply with pursuing a program of study. Organizations cater to a variety of student interests to include political, social, cultural, professional, leadership, and technical venues related to programs of study.

Students involved in an organization will find greater connectivity with the college, peers, and advisors, and are more likely to remain in college through graduation or completion of educational and professional goals. To this end, all students are encouraged to prioritize their time to participate in an organization on campus for leisure activities, to gain leadership skills, and to form friendships. Organizations with an asterisk (*) may have special requirements for joining.

Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP)

Association of Information Technology Professionals is a student branch of a national professional organization. This chapter was founded in 1968 and is designed for students planning careers in information technology. The chapter has monthly meetings with speakers from area companies. Local competition winners compete at regional and national conferences.

Advisor: Steve Prettyman, Steve.Prettyman@chattahoocheetech.edu

Automotive Club (AC)

This club exists for students who are enrolled in an automotive program or are interested in automotive pursuits. Members work on car restoration and other projects, attend car shows, and interact with professionals in the field to further their working knowledge in this industry.

Advisor: Larry Cardell, Larry.Cardell@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Diane Geis, Diane.Geis@chattahoocheetech.edu

Biological Sciences Club

The Biological Sciences Club serves the students, faculty, staff and greater community by creating an atmosphere of lifelong learning in the biological sciences.

Advisor: Jarod Lynn, Jarod.Lynn@chattahoocheetech.edu

CLT Club (Clinical Laboratory Technology)*

This organization’s purpose is to further the knowledge of the CLT professional through educational opportunities. This will be accomplished by offering guest speakers and member presentations. In addition, the organization encourages participation with local, state and national professional organizations. Other activities include fundraisers and community projects. This club exists for students who are currently enrolled in the CLT program.

Advisor: Robin Aiken, Robin.Aiken@chattahoocheetech.edu

Entertainment Technology Council (ETC)

This organization’s purpose is to enhance the member skills to enter the broadcast industry including film, television, radio and news media.

Advisor: Ian Feinberg, Ian.Feinberg@chattahoocheetech.edu

Humanities Club

The Humanities Club promotes art and culture of humanity through creative methods in order to offer students a chance to further their artistic side. It is dedicated to advancing the creative side of CTC students through activities that foster artistic exploration, values, and concepts.

Advisor: Carolyn Lawrence, Carolyn.Lawrence@chattahoocheetech.edu

Interiors Club

The Interiors Club was created to educate and expose students to the world of interior design. The club will help members create and organize portfolios, polish individual resumes, and share concepts and ideas with one another. The purpose of the organization is to advance the theory and practice of interior design. Through various projects, students will build strong social and educational ties that foster high academic achievement and interaction with interior design professionals in the community.

Advisor: Ginger Burton, Ginger.Burton@chattahoocheetech.edu

International Club

The International Club acts as an active support group of the International Community. It serves as a focal point for International student initiatives, concerns, and social functions. The Club sponsors an annual celebration of International Education Week highlighting the cultural diversity of the college and its educational programs of interest. Club members practice cross-cultural skills as they learn to be global leaders and participate in service projects. Selected Club members participate in the annual Georgia International Leadership Conference.

Advisor: Greg Moor, Greg.Moor@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Angie Gonzalez, Angie.Gonzalez@chattahoocheetech.edu

Lambda Nu (Radiography Organization)*

Lambda Nu is a national honor society for the radiologic and imaging sciences. Its objectives are to foster academic scholarship and promote research and investigation in the radiologic and imaging sciences. This club is only for Radiography students who are currently enrolled in the program.

Advisor: Jamie Bailey, Jamie.Bailey@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Stacey Carter, Stacey.Carter@chattahoocheetech.edu

National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)*

NTHS is a national organization with the goal of honoring outstanding technical college students. Membership is based on GPA and number of hours completed.

Advisor: George Austin, George.Austin@chattahoocheetech.edu
Advisor: Elizabeth Anderson, Elizabeth.Anderson@chattahoocheetech.edu

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL)

Phi Beta Lambda is a student branch of a national organization that provides opportunities for students who have career plans in business and office occupations. Students hold monthly meetings, sponsor service projects, and participate in state conferences and competitions.

Advisor: Lisa Houston, Lisa.Houston@chattahoocheetech.edu
Advisor: Nate Akins, Nathan.Akins@chattahoocheetech.edu

Professional Land Care Network (PLANET)

The professional Land Care Network is an organization for students in the Environmental Horticulture program. PLANET participates in garden tours, seminars, industry-related trade shows, and PLANET Student Field Day and Career Day. This organization provides an opportunity for members to improve their leadership skills and explore careers in the horticulture field.

Advisor: John Hatfield, John.Hatfield@chattahoocheetech.edu

Public Safety Club

The club exists primarily for students planning to enter public safety careers in criminal justice, paramedics/EMT, fire science, and any other related field. In addition to regular meetings, students also take trips to enhance their knowledge in the field, such as an earlier trip to Philadelphia to learn about the U.S. Constitution.

Advisor: Craig Cass, Craig.Cass@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Marcy Hehnly, Marcy.Hehnly@chattahoocheetech.edu

Rho Tau Alpha (Physical Therapist Assistant) Club

Rho Tau Alpha’s (PTA) mission is to create a better understanding of the vastness, diversity, and complexity of the profession of physical therapy through a supportive and informative environment for students enrolled in the physical therapist assistant program.

Advisor: Stephanie Puffer, Stephanie.Puffer@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Christine Miller, Christine.Miller@chattahoocheetech.edu

Sigma Alpha Pi – The National Society of Leadership and Success*

Sigma Alpha Pi exists to assist college students in creating the lives they desire by helping students discover what they truly want to do and giving them the support and tools to achieve their goals. Membership is based on GPA.

Advisor: Hollie Queen, Hollie.Queen@chattahoocheetech.edu
Advisor: Jarod Lynn, Jarod.Lynn@chattahoocheetech.edu

SKILLS-USA

SKILLS-USA is a national organization serving teachers and high school and college students who are preparing for careers in trade, technical and skilled service occupations, including health fields. The organization’s purpose is to complement student skills training with personal development. Students learn such qualities and attitudes as leadership, citizenship, self-respect, and high standards of craftsmanship and ethics. Students may participate in state and national competitions. It was formerly known as VICA (Vocational Industrial Clubs of America).

Advisor: Eric Underwood, Eric.Underwood@chattahoocheetech.edu
Advisor: Joe Kazemian, Joe.Kazemian@chattahoocheetech.edu

Student Government Association (SGA)

Student Government Association promotes activities and provides services that contribute to the cultural, social, moral, and intellectual development of students. SGA is composed of representatives from each club plus members-at-large who plan school-wide activities and service projects.

Advisor: Bernita Akinsipe, Bernita.Akinsipe@chattahoocheetech.edu
Co-Advisor: Tina Nesbitt, Syntina.Nesbitt@chattahoocheetech.edu

Student Nurses’ Association (SNA)*

Student Nurses’ Association exists to contribute to nursing education, aid in the development of the whole person, provide camaraderie between students and provide opportunities to meet healthcare professionals. Membership is limited to students enrolled in or seeking enrollment in the Associate degree nursing program.

Interim Advisor: Quetina Pittman-Howell, Quetina.Pittman@chattahoocheetech.edu

Surgical Technology

The Surgical Technology Club is an organization that aims to provide surgical technology professionals with skill, knowledge, and experiences that will help them deliver total quality patient care. To accomplish this goal, educational opportunities are offered via guest speakers, shared experiences, and member presentations. Other activities include fundraisers and community projects.

Advisor: Lorraine Wilderman, Lorraine.Wilderman@chattahoocheetech.edu
Advisor: Torey Works, Torey.Works@chattahoocheetech.edu

White Hat Brigade

This organization’s purpose is to enhance member skills to enter the culinary industry. Members have the opportunity to meet with professionals as well as participate in competitions.

Advisor: Hillary Gallagher, Hillary.Gallagher@chattahoocheetech.edu

Chattahoochee Technical College Logo

980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060
770.528.4545

© 2015 Chattahoochee
Technical College
All Rights Reserved
An Equal Opportunity Institution

A Unit of the Technical
College System of Georgia.

Translate Page

Appalachian Campus
100 Campus Drive
Jasper, GA 30143
706.253.4500

Austell Campus
1578 Veterans Memorial Highway
Austell, GA 30168
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours

Canton Campus
1645 Bluffs Parkway
Canton, GA 30114
770.345.0172

Marietta Campus
980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060
770.528.4545

Mountain View Campus
2680 Gordy Parkway
Marietta, GA 30066
770.509.6305

North Metro Campus
5198 Ross Road
Acworth, GA 30102
770.975.4000

Paulding Campus
400 Nathan Dean Boulevard
Dallas, GA 30132
770.443.3600

Woodstock Campus
8371 Main Street
Woodstock, GA 30188
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours