Chattahoochee Tech Highlights Yanmar and Osmotica for Manufacturing Appreciation Week

The Chattahoochee Technical College Office of Economic Development nominated two of Georgia’s leading companies, Yanmar Co. Ltd. and Osmotica Pharmaceutical, for recognition during the state’s 2019 Manufacturing Appreciation Week.

Representatives from Chattahoochee Tech along with officials from both companies attended the 2019 Manufacturing Appreciation Week awards luncheon, which was held recently at the Georgia International Convention Center. This event featured an address by Gov. Brian Kemp, and was co-hosted by Commissioner Matt Arthur of the Technical College System of Georgia and Amy Carter, Deputy Commissioner for Rural Georgia Initiatives at the Georgia Department of Economic Development.

Yanmar is one of the world’s largest producers of diesel engines, with two locations in Bartow County. The company’s Yanmar Academy, a state-of-the-art training center is housed in the 50,000-square-foot Yanmar Evo Center, which is located at the corner of Highway 92 and Old Alabama Road in Acworth. With a research and development manufacturing facility located in Cobb County, Osmotica Pharmaceuticals is a fully-integrated bio-pharmaceutical company focused on developing, manufacturing and commercializing specialty products.

This year marked the 25th anniversary of celebrating Manufacturing Appreciation Week in Georgia. The event also included the presentation of scholarship awards to students with winning entries in a statewide design contest promoting the importance of manufacturing to the students’ communities, and the potential for students to find fulfilling careers in this sector of the economy.

Yanmar Group Photo in front of training center.
Gathered in front of the Yanmar Academy training center are officials from Yanmar and Chattahoochee Technical College, including Dave Flanagan, Selena Galmon, Arne Irwin, Mike Doyle, Chattahoochee Technical College Board of Directors Vice Chair Steve Holcomb, Todd Grondzki,  Yanmar America President Tim Fernandez, Chattahoochee Technical College President Dr. Ron Newcomb, David Smith, and Paul Surratt.
Osmotica group photo at MAW awards luncheon.
Osmotica officials attending the awards luncheon included Franklin Kearney, Jolie Delva, Bill Buecheler, and Debra Curtwright. They are pictured here at this event with Chattahoochee Technical College President Dr. Ron Newcomb and the college’s Vice President of Academic Affairs and Economic Development Jason Tanner, along with Austin Riley of the Cobb Chamber.

Comments are closed.