2018 Rick Perkins award ceremony attendees.

2018 State Rick Perkins Award Presented to Stephanie O’Donoghue of Chattahoochee Tech

Stephanie O’Donoghue of Chattahoochee Technical College received the state’s 2018 Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction in an awards ceremony hosted by the Technical College System of Georgia in Atlanta on Wednesday, April 25.

“As President of Chattahoochee Tech, I am so very proud that our own Stephanie O’Donoghue has been selected not only as CTC’s premier teacher for 2018, but now also as the state winner for the Technical College System of Georgia,” said Dr. Ron Newcomb.

“Stephanie reflects those characteristics which, though shared among all teachers, are exceptionally pronounced among the very best. Anyone who meets her, hears her talk, or sits in her class can readily see that she is intensely passionate about learning in itself, about students’ learning, and about the art of teaching,” said Dr. Newcomb. “Our students in the two-year Associate of Applied Science degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology uniformly speak of her knowledge, her gift for teaching, and her motivation of their own desire to do their very best.”

The Rick Perkins Award, now in its 28th year, highlights excellence in technical education. As the 2018 award winner, O’Donoghue will make public appearances as an ambassador for technical education, including meeting with the Governor and addressing the Georgia General Assembly.

2018 Rick Perkins Award ceremony attendees.
Celebrating the state’s 2018 Rick Perkins Award announcement were, l-r, Jason Tanner, Chattahoochee Tech Vice President of Academic Affairs and Economic Development, Dr. Ron Newcomb, President of Chattahoochee Technical College, Stephanie O’Donoghue, Chattahoochee Tech Engineering Technologies Lead Instructor, and Matt Arthur, TCSG Commissioner.
Finalists for the state's 2018 Rick Perkins Award congratulate Stephanie O'Donoghue, shown fourth from right, when she was named the winner of this award.
The state’s 2018 Rick Perkins Award winner Stephanie O’Donoghue, shown fourth from right, was congratulated by the 2018 Rick Perkins Award finalists when her name was announced at the TCSG awards ceremony for this top honor.

Comments are closed.