Mike Peterson Memorial awards ceremony 2018.

Career-Building Tool Sets Awarded Through Annual Mike Peterson Memorial Award

Eight Chattahoochee Tech students in the college’s Automotive Technology, Diesel Equipment Technology, and Automotive Collision Repair programs were presented with complete Snap-on tool sets funded through the Mike Peterson Memorial Scholarship Fund in a ceremony held Wednesday, April 18, at the Chattahoochee Tech Marietta Campus.

Award winners received a Snap-on tool rollcart and a set of tools each valued at approximately $6,000. This equipment is essential for these students completing school as they enter careers in the automotive, diesel, and collision repair industries.

The 2018 Mike Peterson Memorial Award recipients were:

  • Andrew Ballew, of Fannin County
  • Dawson Caldwell, of Cherokee County
  • Ronnie Cooper, of Paulding County
  • Jose De La Pava, of Cobb County
  • Joshua Owens, of Paulding County
  • Wiley Pritchett, of Cobb County
  • Arthur Tarantino, of Cobb County
  • Tyler Bailey, of Cobb County.

Cobb County residents Alan and Claire Peterson established this annual awards program 14 years ago to honor the memory of their son, Mike Peterson, an automotive enthusiast who passed away in 2002. The awards are funded through proceeds raised by the annual Mike Peterson Memorial Golf Tournament.

“This is a tremendous gift of support for our students,” said Dr. Ron Newcomb, President of Chattahoochee Technical College. “The Peterson family’s steadfast support for our students has changed their lives. We are all very grateful for their support and we are truly inspired by their commitment.”

In order to be considered for the Mike Peterson Memorial Award, Chattahoochee Tech students in the Automotive Technology, Diesel Equipment Technology, and Automotive Collision Repair programs must meet award GPA requirements, complete an application, write an essay and provide a letter of recommendation from a current Chattahoochee Tech faculty member.

“As one of this year’s recipients, I am beyond grateful for everything that is included in the tool set and for all the help it will provide me while pursuing my career in collision repair,” said Tyler Bailey, of Marietta, who is completing his studies in collision repair at the Chattahoochee Tech Appalachian Campus in Jasper. “Throughout the last two years in this program, I have learned more than I ever thought I could. I am beyond excited to begin my career in the industry.”

Award winner Jose De La Pava, of Marietta, is in the Automotive Technology program at the Chattahoochee Tech Marietta Campus. “Two years ago I realized I needed to reinvent myself by learning a skill or trade in high demand. Thanks to the Peterson family’s generosity, this award will change my quality of life and allow me to have an advantage with career placement and marketability in this industry.”

Looking forward to a career in the diesel engine field, award winner Wiley Pritchett, of Marietta, will become a full-time Service Support Technician at Vermeer Southeast upon graduation in May. “This tool set will facilitate a smooth transition into my new role,” said Pritchett. “When I chose to enter the diesel engine field, I was glad to discover that Chattahoochee Tech had an excellent program, and I have had an equally wonderful experience.”

Mike Peterson Memorial awards ceremony 2018.
Attending the Mike Peterson Memorial Award presentation at the Chattahoochee Tech Marietta Campus were, l-r, award winners Andrew Ballew, Dawson Caldwell, Arthur Tarantino, Tyler Bailey and Joshua Owens, scholarship founders Claire and Alan Peterson, Chattahoochee Tech President Dr. Ron Newcomb, award winner Ronnie Cooper, Chattahoochee Tech Foundation Vice Chair Jason Anavitarte, and award winners Jose De La Pava and Wiley Pritchett.

Comments are closed.