Goal Logo

Chattahoochee Tech to Honor its Best Students and Instructors

(Marietta, Ga. – Jan. 22, 2014) Chattahoochee Technical College will recognize its top students and instructors at a ceremony Friday. Finalists for both the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership and the Professor of the Year Award will be honored in the ceremony with winners announced to advance to the regional and state levels of the competition.

“Each year the caliber of students is impressive,” said Career Services Specialist Jesse Moyers. “The students are not only succeeding academically, but also they have impressive resumes of work and life experiences. To hear them speak about the role of technical college education in their goals is an inspirational experience.”

Now in its 42nd year, GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students. GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s technical colleges, as well as the Board of Regents colleges with technical education divisions.

“The purpose of the GOAL program is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce,” said Moyers.

Nominated by their instructors 21 students competed for the title. The field has been narrowed to four finalists, who had final round interviews in December for the title. Finalists include:

  • John Griffin; Criminal Justice of Ballground, GA.
  • Johntavious Johnson; Practical Nursing of Cartersville, GA
  • Whitney Robledo; Associate of Science in Nursing of Alpharetta, GA
  • Jessica Rodefer; Drafting of Kennesaw, GA

A new award is also making its debut at the ceremony. The Professor of the Year Award will double as the college’s entry to the statewide award competition of the Rick Perkins Award for instructors. More than 25 instructors were nominated for the award with the field being narrowed down to eight who were interviewed and evaluated. The final four will be in attendance Friday to hear who will represent the college.

“This is our first year for the Professor of the Year title,” explained Business Management Instructor Diane Petty. “While much of the criteria is the same for the Rick Perkins Award, this winner will be eligible to compete for the title at the state and possibly national level.”

Finalists for the award include:

  • Judy Cannon; Reading; of Smyrna
  • Frances Carlson; Early Childhood Care and Education; of Hiram
  • Deanne Collins; Radiography; of Powder Springs
  • Stephanie Lawler; English; of Acworth

Comments are closed.