Chattahoochee Tech News


22 Chattahoochee Tech Students Nominated for GOAL Award

(Marietta, Ga. – Nov. 20, 2013) Instructors at Chattahoochee Technical College have nominated 22 of their best students for the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) competition.

Now in its 42nd year, GOAL, a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students.  GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s 24 technical colleges, as well as the two Board of Regents colleges with technical education divisions.

“The purpose of the GOAL program is to spotlight the outstanding achievement by students in Georgia’s technical colleges and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workforce,” said Chattahoochee Technical College Career Services Specialist Jesse Moyers.

Nominees include:

Kimberly America  Allied Health Sciences Marietta
Michael Boyd  TV Production Kennesaw
Katrina Brock  Business Admin. Technology Kingston
John Champagne  Business Management Marietta
Patrick Claxton  Clinical Lab Tech Smyrna
Dondru Clyne  Associate Science in Nursing Fayetteville
Leah Connors  Marketing Management Roswell
Connie Curry  Logistics and Supply Chain Mgmt. Kennesaw
Natalie DeVaux  Computer Information Systems Marietta
Gayle Ferris  Allied Health Sciences Canton
John Griffin  Criminal Justice Technology Ball Ground
Valerie James  Interiors Marietta
Catarina Johnson  Early Childhood Care and Education Marietta
Johntavious Johnson  Practical Nursing Cartersville
Kim Linton  Marketing Management Marietta
Amy Kropacek  Environmental Technology Marietta
Reginald Robbins  Business Administrative Technology Powder Springs
Whitney Robledo  Associate of Science in Nursing Alpharetta
Jessica Rodefer  Drafting Kennesaw
Allie Sirois  Early Childhood Care and Education Kennesaw
Van Wauford  Business Management Canton
Sarah Wetherington  Early Childhood Care and Education Waleska

A screening committee of administrators at Chattahoochee Technical College will review each of the instructors’ nominations then conduct personal interviews with the students.  After the nominees have been ranked, four finalists will then be chosen to compete to be the college’s GOAL winner. Students come from all different programs at the college, representing many of the in-demand careers today, according to Moyers. Finalists will be announced later this month and the school winner will be announced in January.

After another round of interviews and evaluations, the student judged most outstanding will be designated as the college’s GOAL winner and move on to the regional competition.  Then three from each of the three regions will make up the nine semi-finalists, who will be named in April at the state GOAL conference in Atlanta.  The nine regional finalists will then move to the state level and compete for the title of state GOAL winner.

The student who earns the state GOAL winner title is also awarded the important responsibility of traveling the state as the ambassador for the entire technical college system.  To make that travel easier, the winner also receives a new car.

Categories: Announcements and Awards and Honors.

Chattahoochee Technical College Logo

980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060

© 2013 Chattahoochee
Technical College
All Rights Reserved
An Equal Opportunity Institution

A Unit of the Technical
College System of Georgia.

Translate Page

Appalachian Campus
100 Campus Drive
Jasper, GA 30143

Austell Campus
1578 Veterans Memorial Highway
Austell, GA 30168
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours

Canton Campus
1645 Bluffs Parkway
Canton, GA 30114

Marietta Campus
980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060

Mountain View Campus
2680 Gordy Parkway
Marietta, GA 30066

North Metro Campus
5198 Ross Road
Acworth, GA 30102

Paulding Campus
400 Nathan Dean Boulevard
Dallas, GA 30132

Woodstock Campus
8371 Main Street
Woodstock, GA 30188
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours