Chattahoochee Tech News


Chattahoochee Tech Board Honors Melinda Lemmon

(­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Acworth, Ga. – June 11, 2013) Described as remarkable and committed, Chattahoochee Technical College Board Member Melinda Lemmon was honored at the college’s monthly meeting of its Board of Directors. After serving on the North Metro Technical College Board and the Chattahoochee Technical College Board for the last nine years, Lemmon is rotating off the board.

“Counting up the time she has served this college and this community by being a board member comes up to a gift of over 700 hours during those nine years,” said Chattahoochee Technical College Board Chair Mitzi Moore. “She has made that commitment and seen it through with each meeting, committee and project.”

Lemmon has served as the Economic Development/Executive Director for the Cartersville-Bartow County Department of Economic Development for more than half a decade. She came to Cartersville from Dalton where she was the coordinator for the Carpet Capital Consortium, handling Tech Prep and School to Work, at Dalton State College.  She has served in various economic, community and workforce development capacities for many years through several chambers of commerce and development authorities.

“Remarkable is the right word to describe Melinda,” said Chattahoochee Technical College President Dr. Ron Newcomb. “She’s an incredible advocate for this technical college and an educated workforce in the economic development of Cartersville and Bartow County. During all this time she has been careful to include Chattahoochee Technical College in discussions with any prospect for business and industry.”

Chattahoochee Technical College currently has 15 members on its Board of Directors, which meets eight times a year. Chattahoochee Technical College’s board serves both in a community advisory capacity and in a limited administrative capacity, performing certain oversight responsibilities as designated by state board policy. The local board is comprised of members from the business and industrial communities from six counties in the service area (Bartow, Cherokee, Cobb, Gilmer, Paulding and Pickens counties). Board members are selected because of their experience, ability, and dedication to deal with issues that relate to the mission of the college.

“From the days when this was North Metro Tech, through the merger and now to being the largest technical college in the state, it has been a pleasure to serve,” Lemmon said. “It is a passion to connect employers with the workforce they need.”

Categories: Announcements and Governing Bodies.

Chattahoochee Technical College Logo

980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060

© 2013 Chattahoochee
Technical College
All Rights Reserved
An Equal Opportunity Institution

A Unit of the Technical
College System of Georgia.


Appalachian Campus
100 Campus Drive
Jasper, GA 30143

Austell Campus
1578 Veterans Memorial Highway
Austell, GA 30168
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours

Canton Campus
1645 Bluffs Parkway
Canton, GA 30114

Marietta Campus
980 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060

Mountain View Campus
2680 Gordy Parkway
Marietta, GA 30066

North Metro Campus
5198 Ross Road
Acworth, GA 30102

Paulding Campus
400 Nathan Dean Boulevard
Dallas, GA 30132

Woodstock Campus
8371 Main Street
Woodstock, GA 30188
Classroom-Only Location
No Office Hours