female students at graduation

CTC 2013 Radiography Graduates Honored in Pinning Ceremony

(Acworth, Ga. – May 15, 2013) At Chattahoochee Technical College almost one third of its students express an interest in the healthcare field. One of the programs that has the highest interest is the college’s Radiography program, where according to Dean of Health Sciences Ron Webb, around 100-150 people apply for approximately 20 spots each year. On Tuesday, 18 of the program’s newest graduates celebrated the achievement of having successfully completed the program at a pinning ceremony.

Offered at the North Metro Campus of Chattahoochee Technical College, the program is a sequence of courses that prepares students for positions in Radiology departments and related businesses and industries. Learning opportunities develop academic, technical, and professional knowledge and skills required for job acquisition, retention and advancement. The program emphasizes a combination of didactic and clinical instruction necessary for successful employment. Program graduates receive a Radiography Associate of Applied Science degree, and possess the qualifications of an entry-level radiographer.

The class of 2013 was the eighth class to complete the program at Chattahoochee Technical College – a process that includes 21 months of classes and clinical experiences after acceptance.

“Being together for 21 months of classes makes us a family,” said Program Director Dr. Deanne Collins. “If I had to describe this family in one word, that word would be thoughtful.”

The class has studied together, prepared for tests, participated in clinical experiences in the field and celebrated events. During the course of the almost two years the class has rejoiced over five births, two marriages and an engagement, while comforting each other during hard times, said graduate and class co-president Branden Vautrin of Canton. The class also did something no other in the program’s history has accomplished. All 18 of the students who started the program in August 2011 graduated together.

“Together this class will be making a huge footprint,” he told his classmates at the ceremony.

His co-president Sonya Heald of Dallas agreed that the future is bright for the classmates who recently took their registry exams. Being part of the program is something Heald said she and the other graduates would take pride in as they begin working at area hospitals and healthcare facilities.

“I believe we have graduated from the most elite radiography program in the state,” Heald said. “We can take pride in that.”

In addition to celebrating graduation, the students were rewarded for their service to the honor society and a special award was given to clinical site locations that provided exceptional assistance. Three honors were also announced for students for the best professional image going to Branden Vautrin of Canton, best clinical recommendations going to Jennifer Carlan of Smyrna and highest academic record going to Judy Zwick of Acworth.

Graduates of the program include:

  • Le Anna Bearden of Cartersville
  • Jennifer Carlan of Smyrna
  • Megan Clark of Jasper
  • Tish Greer of Woodstock
  • Sara Guidinger of Marietta
  • Sonya Heald of Dallas
  • Autumn Holt of Acworth
  • Nicci Johnson of Waleska
  • Tina Kovacs Acworth
  • Candice Malawy Acworth
  • Carrie Pollock of Emerson
  • Theresa Redd of Cumming
  • Stephen Shepherd of Canton
  • Jo Ann Sini of Marietta
  • Ashton Thomas of Commerce
  • Branden Vautrin of Canton
  • Eric Zawwistowski of Woodstock
  • Judy Zwick of Acworth

View a photo gallery of the ceremony here.

Comments are closed.