Student using camera

And the Emmy Goes to…Chattahoochee Technical College

(Marietta, Ga. – May 20, 2013) Eight Chattahoochee Technical College students and alumni are nominated for Southeastern Regional Emmy Awards this year. The winners for the annual awards, which celebrate excellence in media, will be announced June 8.

Three of the students nominated received individual nominations in three out of the five spots for the Student Production News Category. The three nominations were from a field of 13 entries representing schools such as University of South Carolina, Georgia Southern University, Berry College and Chattahoochee Technical College. Nominees from Chattahoochee Technical College include Adrianne Cole of Marietta, Marty Johnson of Alpharetta and Nicole McHenry of Marietta.

Chattahoochee Technical College was the only school nominated out of nine entries in the Student Production-Non-News Category. Three current Chattahoochee Technical College students received that nomination, including Chad Kimbrel of Woodstock, William Smith of Canton and Scott Hyland of Woodstock. Other schools represented include Georgia Southern University, University of North Carolina and Berry College.

Two graduates of program were nominated for their professional work. Jim Raymond was nominated in the Special Event Coverage – Edited Category for the production of Spirit Sounds for Atlanta Interfaith Broadcasters. In the Spot News Category, graduate Justin Crate was nominated for his work at WSB-TV.

Taught at the college’s Mountain View Campus, television production technology students at CTC learn the behind-the-scene skills necessary to produce TV news, documentaries and entertainment shows. In addition to learning to operate cameras in the studio and in the field, students learn about production, directing, writing, lighting, editing, audio, graphics and digital-animation skills.

Chattahoochee Technical College students and faculty will also be providing video production for the awards ceremony this year. This is the 11th year that Chattahoochee Technical College has produced the show for the Southeast Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Comments are closed.